Turkish Delicacies

What’s the first thing that pops into your head when I just mention “Turkish Delicacies”? Kebabs? Those sickly Turkish Delights in wrappers that you find in your local supermarket? Anything else? Well, I can assure you, Turkish Cuisine is one of my favourite cuisines, te spices and aromas that fill all of my senses can back me up on that, and I invite you to read my favourite Turkish Delicacies and to perhaps comment your own.

  • Turkish Delights. The real Turkish Delights, that contain pistachios, or nuts, dates or hazelnuts, you name it. You are bound to find one that suits your unique tastebuds. If you are in Istanbul, i recommend going to the Spice Bazaar to select your individual Turkish Delights. 
  • When I visited Turky, I was a meat eater (I am now a vegetarian) and I loved the traditional döner kebab. The Döner Kebab is a type of Turkish kebab, made of meat cooked on a vertical rotisserie, which I recommend entirely!
  • Meze is another of my favourites, it is very similar to Spanish Tapas, so a selection of small dishes (calamari, salad, cheese, yoghurt with garlic and cucumber) generally served with an alcoholic drink. Depending on which place you go to get your Meze, the courses will be different. 
  • Baklava is a rich, sweet pastry made of layers of filo filled with chopped nuts and sweetened and held together with syrup or honey. It is traditionally Turkish, dating back to the Ottoman Empire. 
  • Similar to Baklava, Tulumba is a popular dessert found in the cuisines of the former Ottoman Empire. It is a fried batter soaked in syrup. This Turkish Delicacy, is very similar to Churros or a similar European Dish. 
  • Feeling thirsty? Why not try the common Turkish Apple Tea? In basically every restaurant or shop, Turkish apple tea would be on show. Perhaps people drinking it, or people about to drink it… everywhere. 

As I visited about three years ago, (2013) I obviously cannot recall every dish I tried, but these are the ones that have evidently stayed in my mind for many years after.

Have any of you tried any of these dishes? Or are there any that you have tried and adored but have not featured in this list, please comment below!

Thanks for reading.

-Navigatio Travel

Leave a Reply

